Luther’s Johnna Stottlemyre on National Championship OSU Livestock Judging Team

Bison Blinds

Oklahoma State University’s Livestock Judging Team and coach earned top honors for a historic 21st time at the recent North American International Livestock Exposition.

In addition to the OSU Department of Animal and Food Sciences students winning the 2020-2021 National Champion award, Parker Henley, assistant professor and OSU Extension specialist, was named Coach of the Year by the National Collegiate Livestock Coaches’ Association.

Since the team claimed victory for the first time in 1925, OSU students have earned more national championships at the competition than any other university in the country. The consistency and quality of their accomplishments shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone by now, Henley said.

The team dominated the contest with high individual scores, positioning them to win every division, including goats, swine and cattle, as well as the reasons division. They ended the event with a 102-point lead, the greatest margin of victory ever recorded at the North American International Livestock Exposition, Henley said.

Individual honors by team members this year included:

  • Phoebe Rogers of Hennessey, Oklahoma – named High Individual Overall.
  • Macey Goretska of Abilene, Texas – earned the fourth High Individual spot and tied with a trio of fellow contestants to win the reasons division.
  • Ty Taylor of Centralia, Oklahoma; Tanner Walden of Tonganoxie, Kansas; and Mattie Haynes of Jay, Oklahoma were the fifth, 10th and 11th High Individuals Overall, respectively.
  • Haynes, Goretska and Grace Harris of Horatio, Arkansas, were named All-American award winners for their dedication to livestock judging, academic success, university and industry activities, and community involvement.

Other members of the team are: Jacob Bedell of Yukon, Oklahoma; Blair Cupps of Burlington, Kentucky; Calvin Johnson of Vinita, Oklahoma; Danielle Nading of Fort Scott, Kansas; Bailey Osborn of Kingman, Kansas; Natally Owen of Mustang, Oklahoma; Johnna Stottlemyre of Luther, Oklahoma; and Raylyn Thompson of Adair, Oklahoma.

Discover more from Luther Register News

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Show More

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker